Rise With Confidence

Today, we move to verse 2 of the 139th Psalm.

Each day, as I prepare for annual conference, I am meditating on Psalm 139 verse by verse.

The second verse reads “You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar.”

All day I’ve been thinking about standing and sitting.

Exciting stuff.

In the morning, thinking about standing was entirely underwhelming.

Big deal. I am about to stand up.

I’m going to brush my teeth. May God bless my toothpaste?

I’m standing to retrieve my morning coffee. May God bless me with caffeine?

But as my day progressed, I became more and more aware of the moments I would stand up as I transitioned my mind to become aware that God knew what I was doing.

It became a bit more focused at work as my rising became a bit more intentional based on tasks that seemed to be more important than brushing my teeth.

Every time I stood to my feet, I was going somewhere important at that moment in time.

I know it may seem trivial (most especially during my bio breaks) but I became infused with the Holy Spirit.

Remembering the verse helped to remember that God was with me each time I stood up and it also helped remind me to march toward the task with His kingdom in mind.

Each time I rose, I began whispering my soul prayer – “Guide me”

Now, understand – it didn’t happen every time.

But it happened.

And when it did happen, I was better for it.

May we as a church rise from our seats in Shreveport and march toward our decisions with clarity and confidence.

God is with us.

He’s watching us when we stand up.

And thank God He is.

About Rossnagel

I am the Director of Communications for the Louisiana Conference of the United Methodist Church
This entry was posted in spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Rise With Confidence

  1. jenrosspt says:

    ❤️

Leave a comment